The Killeen-Temple Metropolitan Planning Organization (KTMPO) is responsible for establishing a comprehensive transportation planning process for the greater area around Killeen and Temple. The MPO is comprised of a Transportation Planning Policy Board and a Technical Advisory Committee whose members are community and county elected officials and/or are appointed by those officials.

The KTMPO boundary covers all of Bell County, parts of Coryell and Lampasas counties, portions of Fort Cavazos and encompasses the following cities: Bartlett, Belton, Copperas Cove, Harker Heights, Holland, Kempner, Killeen, Little River-Academy, Morgan’s Point Resort, Nolanville, Rogers, Salado, Temple, and Troy.

The Central Texas Council of Governments is the Rural Planning Organization (RPO) for the seven counties within its jurisdiction. The RPO includes all areas that are outside of the KTMPO boundary which includes Hamilton, Milam, Mills, San Saba and a majority of Coryell and Lampasas Counties.