Central Texas Roadway Safety Action Plan

The Central Texas Council of Governments (CTCOG) and the Killeen-Temple Metropolitan Planning Organization (KTMPO) are developing a Central Texas Roadway Safety Action Plan to improve roadway safety for all users. This plan will identify and prioritize safety improvements for everyone who uses roads, including pedestrians, cyclists, public transportation users, and motorists. This plan is funded through a grant from the nationwide Safe Streets and Roads For All (SS4A) program and through the commitment of CTCOG’s and KTMPO’s member agencies.

The study area for this project includes Bell County, Hamilton County, Lampasas County, Milam County, Mills County, and San Saba County. The main goal of the Central Texas Roadway Safety Action Plan is to reduce or eliminate fatalities and serious injuries on the roads by focusing on the needs of all road users.

Plan development began in September 2023 and will continue through early 2025, and staff are currently collecting feedback on roadway safety needs and ideas. To learn more about the project and leave your feedback, visit the project website below.