

KILLEEN-TEMPLE METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION (KTMPO) TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (TAC)

Wednesday, August 5, 2020 9:30 AM

Electronic Meeting

Central Texas Council of Governments (CTCOG) 2180 North Main Street Belton, TX 76513

Technical Advisory Committee Voting Members

Cheryl Maxwell—City of Belton Brenton Lane for Victor Goebel – TxDOT Waco

Bobby Lewis—City of Copperas Cove District

Jason Deckman for Brian Chandler – City of Temple Darrell Burtner for Carole Warlick – Hill Country

Danielle Singh for Kent Cagle – City of Killeen Transit District

Judge Roger Miller – Coryell County

Additional Attendees

David Olson – City of Temple

Kara Escajeda – City of Nolanville

Ryan Haverlah – City of Copperas Cove

Brigida Gonzalez – TxDOT

Christi Bonham – TxDOT Waco District

Mario Perez – Fort Hood

Michael Love – Fort Hood

Michael Love – Fort Hood

Michael Love – Fort Hood

Michael Magoner – ATG

Roger Schiller – CDM Smith

Charlie Sullivan – CDM Smith

Uryan Nelson – KTMPO

Kendra Coufal – KTMPO

James McGill – KTMPO

Helen Owens – KTMPO

In observance of State and Local directives regarding social distancing and travel; members participated via the live stream where possible.

Meeting Minutes:

- 1. Call to Order: Uryan Nelson called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.
- **2. Opportunity for Public Comment:** No comments were made by the public.
- 3. Staff Update: Advisory Committees; Air Quality.

Kendra Coufal informed the TAC of upcoming board and advisory committee meetings through October. Air quality readings for the month of July were 49 ppb at the Killeen station and 44 ppb at the Temple station.

4. Action Item: Approve minutes from the July 8, 2020 meeting.

Judge Roger Miller made a motion to approve the July 8, 2020 meeting minutes, seconded by Bobby Lewis; the motion passed unanimously.

5. Discussion and Action Item: Regarding recommendation to initiate the public involvement process for amendments to the 2045 MTP, FY 19-22 TIP, and FY 21-24 TIP.

Kendra Coufal informed TAC of proposed amendments to the 2045 MTP, FY19-22 TIP, and FY 21-24 TIP regarding projects W40-4a(1) and W35-01. The changes proposed include a limit modification and change in approved construction cost/match rate. Brenton Lane from TxDOT clarified that the construction cost change for project W35-01 might not be necessary. Kendra Coufal stated that changes can still be made, and TAC will not approve until September.

Cheryl Maxwell made a motion to recommend initiation of the public involvement process for amendments to the 2045 MTP, FY 19-22 TIP, and FY 21-24 TIP, seconded by Bobby Lewis; the motion passed unanimously.

6. Discussion Item: Review KTMPO Public Participation Plan (PPP).

Kendra Coufal informed TAC that KTMPO was starting a regular review of the KTMPO Public Participation Plan and outlined the scheduled update plan over the coming months. Ms. Coufal stated that a few administrative changes had been made and then directed TAC members to review specific sections of the plan highlighted in the packet and respond with feedback. Ms. Coufal specifically requested TAC members review whether the newspaper posting requirements for KTMPO meetings was still necessary.

7. Discussion Item: CDM Smith update on Freight Parking Study.

Roger Schiller of CDM Smith gave a brief presentation on the status of the Freight Parking Study for the KTMPO region. Mr. Schiller detailed the next steps in the process including conducting interviews and surveys of various kinds of stakeholders in the region. Mr. Schiller requested that TAC assist in distributing the surveys and in filling out a TAC specific survey.

8. Discussion Item: Alliance Transportation Group (ATG) discussion on Future Growth Scenario study.

Michael Wagoner of ATG gave a brief presentation to the TAC on the Fiscal Impact Analysis of the Future Growth Scenario Study.

9. Public input received through July 2020.

Public input received through July 2020 were presented to the TAC. No new comments were received.

10. Member Comments:

No member comments.

11. Adjourn: The meeting adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

These meeting minutes were approved by TAC at their September 2, 2020 meeting.

Uryan Nelson, KTMPO Director