The HOP Named Transit System of the Year

Hill Country Transit District, dba The HOP, has been named Region VI Transit System of the Year by the Federal Transit Administration. Region VI includes Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana and New Mexico.  The HOP is the regional public transportation provider for Bell, Coryell, Hamilton, Lampasas, Llano, Mason, Milam, Mills and San Saba counties.  Urban bus service is provided in the cities of Copperas Cove, Killeen, Harker Heights, Belton and Temple.

The HOP is the first transit system to earn this award.  And earn it did – a faultless triennial review of 17 compliance categories, increased ridership, and continued outstanding performance in grant (funds) management.

Carole Warlick, General Manager of Hill Country Transit District since 1985, states “We are so honored by this award, and I commend the staff on their commitment and dedication.  It is no small task to provide quality transportation service over a 9,000 square mile area and at the same time meet all the federal and state regulatory requirements.  My thanks to the staff, Board members, and all our partners who make this happen.  And, of course, to the many customers who use The HOP for their transit needs.”

Additional information on The HOP may be found on their website

Media contact:  Carole Warlick (

Leave a reply